Inclusive Improv

Ian Simpson

Noise Research is the project of UK Sound Artist / Musician Ian Simpson. Noise Research has material released on the Electronic Musik (UK), Rift Recordings (UK), Earth Monkey Productions (UK) & Bivouac (China) labels. Cdr’s currently available are

• The Liftshaft EP ( 3” CDr ) • Split with Barbarians ( 3” CDr ) • Noise Research I • Noise research II • Noise Research III (also known as Experiment III) • Rifts compilation (2 tracks) on Rift recordings • Noise Research Four (on Earth Monkey Productions) • Evoluon (On A.M.P.) • Classwar Karaoke Survey series • Ocean Epicure with Graham Dunning (on Clinical Archives)

Ian has been involved in the experimental improvised music scene for many years and has performed with alongside (amongst others).

• Serfs • Evan Parker • Graham Dunning • Acid Mothers Temple • Sun Ra Arkestra • Eddie Prevost • Faust • Bark! • Pram • John Russell • Paul Rutherford • Telescopes • The A band • Solar Fire trio / Duo • Mark Wastell • Rhodri Davis • Keith Rowe • Colin Potter • Pascal Nichols • Konk Pack • The Good Anna • Alexander Von Schlippenbach • Mick Beck • Phil Marks • Lol Coxhill

He has adopted an uncompromising approach in both playing and performance which has led to his involvement as a performer with ‘The Frakture Big Band’ (Liverpool), ‘Gnod’ (Manchester) & ‘Fonik’ (Warrington). He also actively organises and promotes performances in the Northwest of England including the Pyramid Experimental Music Festival and Manchester based Electronic Organica Nights. His most recent project is a collaboration with sound artist Graham Dunning, the results of which have been released by Clinical Archives in January

  1. A recent comment about Noise Research Four - Such an outstanding album it really is a class piece of work – Jeff Grainger (Dandelion Radio, 2008). About Rifts – A soundtrack to while away the time to as Western civilisation inevitably continues its steadily increasing rate of decay (Heathen Harvest, 2009)